Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? Feedback Thread - v0.23b release (Nov. 2012)

pages: 1 2 3 4 | the topic is closed
26/11/2012 16:57:54

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
fullmetall wrote:
Crash program on "light Hell", kernel 32 sys 64 filename no found
@++



Hi fullmetall - could you send the set file to bugs@muvizu.com and additional info you have? Such as where and when the crash happened. Thanks!

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
26/11/2012 17:04:28

fullmetall
fullmetall
Posts: 164
Jamie wrote:
fullmetall wrote:
Crash program on "light Hell", kernel 32 sys 64 filename no found
@++



Hi fullmetall - could you send the set file to bugs@muvizu.com and additional info you have? Such as where and when the crash happened. Thanks!


yes, sir! (this is the only thing I understand rapidly in original movie version)


ok
edited by fullmetall on 26/11/2012
permalink
26/11/2012 23:41:42

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
ukBerty wrote:
urbanlamb wrote:
the focus/depth of field seems to be a bit odd lol it kind of like focusing top half/bottom half instead of back/front hard to explain anyhow here is two screenies...one from the make video window and one me watching the clip you will see what i mean


Urbanlamb - That looks weird - I've never seen that but I'll watch out for it.

The show camera window has always had a greater depth of field than the "edit / normal / full" window (not sure what it's called), but you get used to this. You can also get some strange results if you cut the depth of field right down, but I've never seen that.

The set looks amazing by the way.


thanks berty its just in directx 9.0 so i am not worried too much at the moment.. I suppose I should ask to become a tester, but I figure I am doing a lot of reporting anyhow haha. I have to keep an eye on that tester forum the last release was looking for german testers so ignored that one

p.s. glad you like the set i am doing something with lots and lots of lights and am trying to create the equivalent of a lens blur so if the blur is not working my plan will be foiled. Its true women do really like shining lights and things
edited by urbanlamb on 26/11/2012
permalink
27/11/2012 01:29:13

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
some wierd error or other. I did a fresh install and cleaned my registry because it appeared my muvizu was scrambled. Alas it was not my pc that scrambled it..

anyhow when you create a video afterwards and try to save after doing some work you get the message that you cant save because the file is in use by some other application

after farting around I discovered that the video joiner (which i dont use) seems to not be shutting down or something after you do a render. I was about to go searching and I noticed that muvizu which seemed to be installed twice had a second instance running for the video joiner just as I was about to force it to shut down..

note: this is on the 64bit muvizu download.

basically if i do a little render I have to restart my pc before I can continue lol


edited by urbanlamb on 27/11/2012
permalink
27/11/2012 05:56:04

tripfreakExperimental user
tripfreak
Posts: 142
@urbanlamb,

your set looks really good but unfortunately I can't load it.
It always stops at around 68%:


and claims that it misses some resources:


But I'm sure that all packages are installed...
Are there different packages for the german and the english version ?
permalink
27/11/2012 06:14:10

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
... its a massive set others have loaded it so I know it works. Its huge it takes quite awhile to load do you leave it running?
permalink
27/11/2012 07:08:07

tripfreakExperimental user
tripfreak
Posts: 142
Yes, I know, but after the error message it quits loading.

Otherwise, I've got no problems with the train set that also has more than 51 MB. Confused
permalink
27/11/2012 09:50:00

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
urbanlamb wrote:
the focus/depth of field seems to be a bit odd lol it kind of like focusing top half/bottom half instead of back/front hard to explain anyhow here is two screenies...one from the make video window and one me watching the clip you will see what i mean



Yeah this is a strange one. At least DX11 works for blue and focus Hopefully this will be fixed for the next release.
edited by Jamie on 27/11/2012

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
27/11/2012 09:51:35

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
urbanlamb wrote:
some wierd error or other. I did a fresh install and cleaned my registry because it appeared my muvizu was scrambled. Alas it was not my pc that scrambled it..

anyhow when you create a video afterwards and try to save after doing some work you get the message that you cant save because the file is in use by some other application

after farting around I discovered that the video joiner (which i dont use) seems to not be shutting down or something after you do a render. I was about to go searching and I noticed that muvizu which seemed to be installed twice had a second instance running for the video joiner just as I was about to force it to shut down..

note: this is on the 64bit muvizu download.

basically if i do a little render I have to restart my pc before I can continue lol


Another weird Urbanlamb.. does this happen consistently? Can you go to task manager and do end process rather than having to restart each time?

Actually I'm a bit confused - the video joiner should not be running unless you actually start it yourself :S
edited by Jamie on 27/11/2012

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
27/11/2012 14:44:29

CrazyDaveMuvizu staff
CrazyDave
Posts: 118
urbanlamb wrote:
the focus/depth of field seems to be a bit odd lol it kind of like focusing top half/bottom half instead of back/front hard to explain anyhow here is two screenies...one from the make video window and one me watching the clip you will see what i mean

I've had a look at this. I can't get anything to look different between DX9 and DX11. It seems to me that the problem is that the depth test for the DoF blur effect is not "hitting" your trees.

I don't know exactly how these objects have been constructed but perhaps integrating some actual 3D geometry into the tree model rather than just alpha'd textures could fix it.

Perhaps I'm barking up the wrong tree however.

Dave
permalink
27/11/2012 17:59:08

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
CrazyDave wrote:
urbanlamb wrote:
the focus/depth of field seems to be a bit odd lol it kind of like focusing top half/bottom half instead of back/front hard to explain anyhow here is two screenies...one from the make video window and one me watching the clip you will see what i mean

I've had a look at this. I can't get anything to look different between DX9 and DX11. It seems to me that the problem is that the depth test for the DoF blur effect is not "hitting" your trees.

I don't know exactly how these objects have been constructed but perhaps integrating some actual 3D geometry into the tree model rather than just alpha'd textures could fix it.

Perhaps I'm barking up the wrong tree however.

Dave



hi re: the trees they are simple mesh planes (the same you would create in a game engine) for the leaves with a texture for leaves. Anyhow its about as 3D as I would get for such an item not sure really
permalink
27/11/2012 18:03:59

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
Jamie wrote:
urbanlamb wrote:
some wierd error or other. I did a fresh install and cleaned my registry because it appeared my muvizu was scrambled. Alas it was not my pc that scrambled it..

anyhow when you create a video afterwards and try to save after doing some work you get the message that you cant save because the file is in use by some other application

after farting around I discovered that the video joiner (which i dont use) seems to not be shutting down or something after you do a render. I was about to go searching and I noticed that muvizu which seemed to be installed twice had a second instance running for the video joiner just as I was about to force it to shut down..

note: this is on the 64bit muvizu download.

basically if i do a little render I have to restart my pc before I can continue lol



Another weird Urbanlamb.. does this happen consistently? Can you go to task manager and do end process rather than having to restart each time?

Actually I'm a bit confused - the video joiner should not be running unless you actually start it yourself :S
edited by Jamie on 27/11/2012



It stopped happening it was driving me batty for hours. I am unsure what is going on I tried looking for a second muvizu to shut down but I could find nothing.. Its acting a bit scrambled not sure why I switched to the codec that comes with my webcam to render and my issue stopped. I was having it with the microsoft basic codec so i am not sure... It does not happen always this is what I did that I think causes it..

I render out a shot and then watch it with muvizu running - then went to save after making a few more changes and well it would not let me

if i render if and dont watch the little clip with muvizu happening it seems to be okay.. so I dont know what is happening but after managing to save a new copy of the set that it happened in and deleting the old copy it seemed to stop.. (for now)
permalink
27/11/2012 18:12:25

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
tripfreak wrote:
Yes, I know, but after the error message it quits loading.

Otherwise, I've got no problems with the train set that also has more than 51 MB. Confused


The christmas set is well you need a pc with a lot of 'umph' it came with a warning I build an entire forest around it and there are a gazzilion spot lights in the thing to create the christmas lights. It usually stops and sits for a long while during the loading of all those lights.

Its probably the ton of lights its not anymore demanding meshwise then the train set in fact I think its less demanding. The train has normal lighting. I dont normally hand out sets with that many lights and effects because I figure I am pushing muvizu very hard with them but for christmas I made an exception
permalink
28/11/2012 20:25:06

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
Hi so that focus thing bug whatever started in directx 11 now





Anyhow I dont think adding more mesh around it is the solution haha so I will just avoid certain depth of field/focus settings and try to work around it. I am keeping quiet about my other issue with the saving files because I dont want to temp fate..

I am also using toon setting in this video I dont notice it when I have toon turned off (actually I use it alot on low settings I just dont think people realize I like the sharper images for certain things eg details on my snow drifts and a few other things )
edited by urbanlamb on 28/11/2012
permalink
03/12/2012 08:39:24

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Anyone else noticed that your camera speed settings no longer get saved with the set ?
permalink
05/12/2012 10:55:00

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
ukBerty wrote:
Anyone else noticed that your camera speed settings no longer get saved with the set ?



Yep, theres a bug there! Well spotted Berty!
Actually I think its the same issue as you reported here - http://www.muvizu.com/Forum/topic1791-object-movement-bug.aspx?p=f#post9975
edited by Jamie on 05/12/2012

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
05/12/2012 13:33:16

CrazyDaveMuvizu staff
CrazyDave
Posts: 118
Yup, the values for the object and camera movement sliders were getting lost between prepare and direct modes (if you started direct from the menu) and also when loading sets. Fixed in next release.
permalink
05/12/2012 13:54:17

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Yes the prepare/direct bug was an old one, but not saving with the set was new.

There's also an issue with remembering a character's "only walk/only run" status between saving/opening a set, which is also new. Will this be sorted with the same fix (it's not as important as the camera speed one).
permalink
05/12/2012 15:27:58

CrazyDaveMuvizu staff
CrazyDave
Posts: 118
ukBerty wrote:
Yes the prepare/direct bug was an old one, but not saving with the set was new.

There's also an issue with remembering a character's "only walk/only run" status between saving/opening a set, which is also new. Will this be sorted with the same fix (it's not as important as the camera speed one).


Hi Berty,

I just checked the code and there's actually nothing there to save the "only walk" and "only run" values for a character with a set. I also checked on an old version (0.19b) and if you save and load a character these values are not retained.

I think this is correct though: to me they are more transient controls rather than values inherent to the character that should be saved... but I'd listen to any opposing opinions :-)

Dave
permalink
05/12/2012 15:59:17

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Dave - I stand corrected. It's not a great problem. I use the "click to position" rather than the "drag" method mostly to move characters. If I forget then the first time I do a movement they always run. Personally I would prefer if the system defaulted to "only walk" as this is what I use 95% of the time.

Another thing....... Could we have some settings in options to set the default status of imported objects. The default is keep upright and can be stood on. This is the exact opposite of what would be most useful for me as...

  • Keep upright just introduces the "wobble about" or "refuse to go upright" issues. It's useful to set the upright position when the object is on the ground, but is best avoided otherwise.
  • As I don't use collision at all, most objects benefit from floating. Also when you first import into a blank space if I don't remember to click on "floats in air" then when you click off the object it plummets to the ground - sometimes it will end up inside another object or beneath the ground and I just immediately delete and re-import.
  • Can be stood on means that characters take off as soon as they get near things which is hard to control. I tend to use can't be stood on/no collision on all objects and just put in invisible ground planes on the rare occasions characters need to stand on something.

I'm sure others would like different settings so how about putting these and your default character movement state in some sort of option panel ?


If these suggestions get in the way of creating a neutral facial state for characters or characters holding things then please immediately ignore.
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 | the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? Feedback Thread - v0.23b release (Nov. 2012)