Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? direct lights

the topic is closed
01/02/2011 16:16:24

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
I know you can flicker lights - but is there a way of turning them on and off? - as in directing them?
permalink
01/02/2011 16:21:20

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
Yep - select the light, then go to prepere>object properties, then change the animation setting to 'animate'.
Then you hit the 'direct...' button to animate it.
edited by Emily on 01/02/2011
permalink
01/02/2011 16:44:40

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
So simple when you think about it Logic
permalink
01/02/2011 17:04:16

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
One more thing - I noticed that when going into the timeline, it's possible to edit the start point but not the duration - is that me being stupid again or something that can't be done?
permalink
06/03/2011 04:26:51

sirih
sirih
Posts: 18
Quoling wrote:
One more thing - I noticed that when going into the timeline, it's possible to edit the start point but not the duration - is that me being stupid again or something that can't be done?


Come on, guys! Answer, please! This is an excellent question. If the duration can't be edited, why on earth is the duration thingie shown at all? I am just trying my first proper animation effort with Muvizu, but the controls (or lack of them) is doing my head in! Since you can't expand a duration on the timeline (boo!), it's really irritating to apparently be given the option in the wee "Edit start" box - only to find you are unable to edit it! WTF?
(Yes, am irritable - but so would you be...)
edited by sirih on 06/03/2011
permalink
06/03/2011 10:04:19

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
You can't change the duration of the animation. If it's a pose you can control this to some extent:-

When directing a pose click on the pose you want then click on idle very quickly, even before you want to end the pose. You can now go into the timeline and move the pose and idle apart and alter the length of the pose. You will not be able to shorten the length of a pose, but you can lengthen it.

You can only cut an action short by clicking on another action when directing. You cannot make an action longer as it's a set routine and will go through the motion and then end.

Hope this helps

Berty
permalink
06/03/2011 11:07:10

NeilExperimental userMuvizu staff
Neil
Posts: 396
sirih wrote:
Come on, guys! Answer, please! This is an excellent question. If the duration can't be edited, why on earth is the duration thingie shown at all? I am just trying my first proper animation effort with Muvizu, but the controls (or lack of them) is doing my head in! Since you can't expand a duration on the timeline (boo!), it's really irritating to apparently be given the option in the wee "Edit start" box - only to find you are unable to edit it! WTF?

Apologies to both sirih and Quoling, I didn't realise this had gone unanswered.

There is currently a technical limitation with the animation system we use that prevents us from changing the playback speed of an animation. The next release (due soonish) will use a newer version of both the Unreal Engine and the Morpheme animation system that will lift this restriction, among many others.

Now, I should mention that the next release won't include the ability to change the duration. It's been a busy release cycle for us with a lot of technical shenanigans, so we haven't had time to add many new features. We'd prefer to release something with bug fixes and whatever small improvements we've managed to make and spend the next release cycle working on new features based on the new engine.

So, the tl;dr version... It's coming.

sirih wrote:
(Yes, am irritable - but so would you be...)


I'm *always* irritable. Seriously.
Cursing
permalink
07/03/2011 03:16:01

sirih
sirih
Posts: 18
Thanks to ukBerty and Neil for your responses. Wouldn't it be simpler, Irritable Neil, just to get rid of the duration box, since durations can't be changed? Or, if it will be at some point, just grey it out for now?
permalink
07/03/2011 10:36:16

NeilExperimental userMuvizu staff
Neil
Posts: 396
sirih wrote:
Wouldn't it be simpler, Irritable Neil, just to get rid of the duration box, since durations can't be changed? Or, if it will be at some point, just grey it out for now?

If you want to get technical, it'd be simpler just to leave it as it is.

I'll have a look what can be done.
permalink
07/03/2011 10:40:15

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
Neil wrote:
sirih wrote:
Wouldn't it be simpler, Irritable Neil, just to get rid of the duration box, since durations can't be changed? Or, if it will be at some point, just grey it out for now?

If you want to get technical, it'd be simpler just to leave it as it is.

I'll have a look what can be done.


Must admit it is a bit strange to have the "option" there if it can't actually be used.......really looking forward to the new IDE though sounds wonderful Woo Hoo! bow bow
permalink
the topic is closed

Home ? How Do I ...? ? direct lights