Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? Feedback on Muvizu - 5th September 2011 (ENG)

pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 | the topic is closed
01/10/2011 23:03:01

mystoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
mysto
Posts: 471
ziggy72 wrote:
...and another thing - what, you thought that was it?

While using the timeline, the default focus stays on the last thing you clicked - so if the last thing you did was add a marker, every time you press Space after that you'll create a marker. Shouldn't the focus always default back to Play/Stop? Unless there's a good reason not to, could we have it that way?

And still on that Timeline window...above the Scene and object properties there are big empty grey areas. Could we either put another timeline into them or get rid of them? Also the headers for the Timeline and Cameras windows are pretty redundant unless you're a total newb, and take up yet more space. The Close and Pin buttons could be relocated down into that grey area above the object properties, maybe?

Back to work


Good Postingi agree
permalink
02/10/2011 03:19:12

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Zigphone again...

...oh c'mon, pick up...

...bloody answering machine, hate these...

Oh, hi, Zig again, listen, there's a strange bug now when using the animate eyes/head dialogue - all's fine until you hit record and then nothing happens. In fact, after that, the timeline doesn't respond to anything. You can only close it using the eyes/head box, and it doesn't work again for any characters at all until you reload the set. Intermittant too, can't replicate it, but it always happens eventually it seems. The other timeline instances, like Actions, still work after eyes/head messes up, so it seems to be only an issue with that particular function.

So, uh, yeah. Laters.
permalink
02/10/2011 05:45:40

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Aaaaand yet another bug - any file I generate over 2gb in size is unreadable to Premiere, Vegas, or most media players. Says it's corrupt, although it isn't. Using the Intel YUV codec.
permalink
02/10/2011 06:44:48

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
ziggy72 wrote:
Zigphone again...

...oh c'mon, pick up...

...bloody answering machine, hate these...

Oh, hi, Zig again, listen, there's a strange bug now when using the animate eyes/head dialogue - all's fine until you hit record and then nothing happens. In fact, after that, the timeline doesn't respond to anything. You can only close it using the eyes/head box, and it doesn't work again for any characters at all until you reload the set. Intermittant too, can't replicate it, but it always happens eventually it seems. The other timeline instances, like Actions, still work after eyes/head messes up, so it seems to be only an issue with that particular function.

So, uh, yeah. Laters.


Yip, I've had this one on numerous occasions too lately
permalink
02/10/2011 06:49:56

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
This is funny one...
I added a shoulder attachment to the dog character and then decided against it so I selected "none" to remove it but the attachment stayed where it was and the dog suddenly acquired a microphone! I tried removing both again and couldn't. The only solution was to restart the program.

Crazy bug!
permalink
02/10/2011 13:36:37

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Actually, in relation to the eyes/head animation bug, it seems like it's actually a delay in Muvizu, not anything broken (as such). If you wait for 20 - 30 secs, it will come back usually - I've had a similar delay sometimes when I use the Create menu - there is a looong pause while Muvizu makes up it's mind about something or other, then the create window appears. Other times it appears instantly.

Also, while waiting for the dialogue boxes to respond, anything you click on or do is buffered, so Muvizu does know you're out there, it just has other things on it's mind... beer
permalink
02/10/2011 13:49:08

toonaramaMuvizu mogulExperimental user
toonarama
Posts: 661
Dreeko wrote:
This is funny one...
I added a shoulder attachment to the dog character and then decided against it so I selected "none" to remove it but the attachment stayed where it was and the dog suddenly acquired a microphone! I tried removing both again and couldn't. The only solution was to restart the program.

Crazy bug!


You can get round this one by removing it from each shoulder individually rather than both together
permalink
02/10/2011 13:52:15

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
As we're documenting funnies, an irishman, a scotsman and .. sorry couldn't resist.

My funny is the Create dialog. It got stuck on the effects page and nothing I did helped.Including selecting from the Create menu.

Oh and I've got the mic appearing after choosing shoulders->severed hand then none(as per Dreeko)
permalink
02/10/2011 14:41:25

DanimalMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Danimal
Posts: 477
ziggy72 wrote:
In fact, after that, the timeline doesn't respond to anything.


I mentioned this one earlier, and it doesn't seem to be localized the head/eyes dialog. I've found that when this happens, if I go to the regular Timeline editor and push play, then stop, then go BACK to whatever I was tryng to record it works. I don't know why, It may have something to do with the timeline's new odd focus you mentioned.

As for the microphone, I'm sure it's because the new mic is actually labelled as "none" so when you pick "none," there it is!
permalink
02/10/2011 14:51:04

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Danimal wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:
In fact, after that, the timeline doesn't respond to anything.


I mentioned this one earlier, and it doesn't seem to be localized the head/eyes dialog. I've found that when this happens, if I go to the regular Timeline editor and push play, then stop, then go BACK to whatever I was tryng to record it works. I don't know why, It may have something to do with the timeline's new odd focus you mentioned.


Thanks Danimal, hadn't remembered your previous post among the <ahem> one or two reports back on the new version.
edited by ziggy72 on 02/10/2011
permalink
12/10/2011 08:27:13

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
I have just started some actual animation with the new version and am coming across some issues.

Would I be right in saying that the way the head movements and characters actions interact has changed somewhere down the line.

It seems that if you have any head movement on the timeline before an action (not during) then it turns all future action driven head movements off ?

You can't even preview the action in prepare mode.

This basically means you can't use head movements and actions in the same shot - very restrictive.

I would like to see it work thus :-

If you record an action it will "wipe" any head movements during that action and replace them with the movements from the action, putting the head movements from the action on the head movement timeline so we can alter them.
Any future changes/recording of head movements will of course change the look of the action, but it's in our control.

This effectively decouples the head movements of an action from the body movements and would get rid of the present one or the other restriction.
permalink
12/10/2011 09:47:15

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
I like having the ability to overwrite the head movements contained in the character action by head/eyes direction. It suits the way I do things but maybe that's just me...
permalink
12/10/2011 10:23:16

toonaramaMuvizu mogulExperimental user
toonarama
Posts: 661
Dreeko wrote:
I like having the ability to overwrite the head movements contained in the character action by head/eyes direction. It suits the way I do things but maybe that's just me...


My reading of UKBERTY's post is that that is what he would want as well (as would I).

I think he is suggesting that if you

a) record some head movements on the timeline before a character action
b) follow it with an action

then the head movements involved with the action do not operate
permalink
12/10/2011 10:36:03

GordonMuvizu staff
Gordon
Posts: 23
ukBerty wrote:
It seems that if you have any head movement on the timeline before an action (not during) then it turns all future action driven head movements off ?


You should be able to get the head movement behaviour you're looking for by using the "release" button in the "direct character eyes and head" dialog. When you record head movement, if you 'release' before you finish recording, any subsequent head movements will play normally. If you don't release the head, it will be effectively locked in place and will override any head movement in subsequent actions.

ukBerty wrote:
You can't even preview the action in prepare mode.


This sounds like a bug, I'll take a look.

Hope this helps, please give me a shout if it doesn't.
edited by Gordon on 12/10/2011
permalink
12/10/2011 11:07:55

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Gordon wrote:
You should be able to get the head movement behaviour you're looking for by using the "release" button in the "direct character eyes and head" dialog.


Well I never knew that.

"Everyday is learning day in Muvizu School"

Thanks
permalink
12/10/2011 12:35:01

DanimalMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Danimal
Posts: 477
I'd mentioned this one before as well. I had been using the 5 key to return the head to the starting position rather than the Release button as I much prefer using the keyboard. I guess I'll have to use the mouse after all...
permalink
12/10/2011 13:07:12

NeilExperimental userMuvizu staff
Neil
Posts: 396
Danimal wrote:
I'd mentioned this one before as well. I had been using the 5 key to return the head to the starting position rather than the Release button as I much prefer using the keyboard. I guess I'll have to use the mouse after all...



Or press the 0 key on the numpad which will have the same effect.
permalink
12/10/2011 16:04:47

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
Just discovered something...may have been covered by someone else though..but occasionally when I go to record, no matter how many times you press the button nothing happens, and all that was left to do was save the file and reopen it. However I just found that if I click the unpin buttons on both the timeline and the parameter window then click record everything works fine and I can record the sequence.

As I say someone may have covered this but its made my life a little less frustrating!

Tim
permalink
22/10/2011 07:26:32

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
It's animation day again and I have some more issues.

The dialogue sync is the biggest at the moment - very infuriating. It seems that it depends where you start previewing from as to where the dialogue cuts in - sometimes around a second out, which makes everyone say the wrong line. I'm just hoping that when I make video the dialogue will always be in the same place, that way I can see the output once created and then adjust the timeline by eye to try and get everyone speaking in the correct place, but I can see a very long and frustrating day ahead. This really should be very high on the list of things which need the devs attention.

Just one other little issue so far.... The direct eye and head window has changed the way it works. Go to direct and press record. Whilst the system is counting down I tend to grab the black circle and get the head in the correct place. When we reach "0" and Muvizu starts recording I can then immediately start to animate the head. The trouble is that now when reaching "0" the "eyes/head" tabs disappear. This causes the whole window to move up a line. As I have the head movement blob held static this effectively moves it down relative to the window and all my characters start the animation by looking at their shoes ! ( the same happens when directing eyes)

Oh, and another thing....

I love the double click to make the character walk/run to a, dare I say it, waypoint.... but this doesn't work for short movements. Sure you can use the one step at a time arrows around the character, but this is only good for a single step, anything more just looks weird. So we still have no really good way of making a character walk a few paces.

Berty
edited by ukBerty on 22/10/2011
permalink
22/10/2011 13:45:33

DanimalMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Danimal
Posts: 477
The tabs disappearing onthe eyes/head window has caused me to curse a time or two as well.

As for the dialog, just get in the habit of nudging the timeline marker back a bit every time before you hit play or record. This seems to keep the sync accurate. If you move forward or just stop and then restart playback, it'll be off every single time.
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 | the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? Feedback on Muvizu - 5th September 2011 (ENG)